You would be surprised to know that Facebook has 30 million dead users who continue to exist in cyber space. This can be called as your legacy left behind. But what happens to those accounts when Facebook gets to know that the user is not alive?
According to a report, 8,000 users die daily. It would be good to keep one’s account as memorial or permanently deleted as there would be no other purpose of it.
For this, Facebook has offered a way to memorialize your account. Memorial accout have these features,
The word Remembering will be shown next to the person’s name on their profile
Depending on the privacy settings of the account, friends can share memories on the memorialized Timeline
Content the person shared (ex: photos, posts) stays on Facebook and is visible to the audience it was shared with
Memorialized profiles don’t appear in public spaces such as in suggestions for People You May Know, ads or birthday reminders
No one can log into a memorialized account
Memorialized accounts that don’t have a legacy contact can’t be changed
Pages with a sole admin whose account was memorialized will be removed from Facebook if it receives a valid request.
You can also choose to permanently delete your account given you pass away. You have to click Legacy Contact and then have your account permanently deleted.