22.4 C
November 17, 2019
Image default
Cricket Pakistan Sports

Pakistan and West Indies will fight for final spot in 2017 Champions Trophy list

DUBAI – Pakistan must have to win the ongoing series against Sri Lanka to keep their hopes alive for playing  the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy.

The Bangladesh has already qualified for mega event after they beat South Africa in second One day International at Mirpur, which now means the battle for the final spot in the eight-team tournament is squarely between Pakistan and West Indies.

Even if Bangladesh lose their third and final ODI against South Africa, it is no longer possible for both Pakistan and West Indies to pass their points before the September cut-off date by ICC.

Pakistan is currently playing a 5 match series against Sri Lanka followed by a tri-series in Zimbabwe also featuring West Indies besides host team.

Pakistan has to make sure that they end Sri Lanka series on winning note to keep their hopes alive for participating in mega ICC event.

England (hosts), South Africa, Australia, Sri Lanka India, Bangladesh, New Zealand are those teams who have qualified for the champions trophy 2017.

The final battle is now between Pakistan and West Indies as Bangladesh sealed its spot in the tournament.