Pakistan to retain victory record vs Sri Lanka in UAE?



ISLAMABAD: Pakistan is going to take on Sri Lanka by hosting a bilateral series including 3 Tests, 5 ODI and 2 Twenty20s between December 2013 and January 2014 in the United Arab Emirates (UAE).

Green Shirts have a bright past in UAE’s home base as Pakistan never lose any Test series there, as well as having significant game experience by playing 23 ODIs and eight T20s in last eight months.

On the other hand, Sri Lanka would play its first Test in nearly 10 months while they have played 17 ODIs and five T20s during last eight months.

Moreover, Pakistan had won the ODIs 4-1 and won the Test and T20 with lead 1-0 against Sri Lanka during 2011’s UAE series and enjoyed little success on their tour of Sri Lanka in June and July 2012 as well as the last bilateral series between the teams; losing the Tests (1-0) and ODIs (3-1) while the T20 series was tied.

However, the Sri Lankan head coach Graham Ford said that the upcoming series would be a tough challenge for his team as the Pakistan have been on the move of late despite the fact that their home venue is the UAE whereas Sri Lanka have been relatively dormant recently.

The UAE series, the second bilateral contest between Pakistan and Sri Lanka, will be played in Dubai, Sharjah and Abu Dhabi.

According to the schedule details, Tests would be played after the T20s and ODIs; the T20s will be played on December 11 and 13 in Dubai, Sharjah will host the first ODI on December 18 while the last two ODIs will be played in Abu Dhabi.

Whereas, the first Test has scheduled on December 31 in Dubai, while second and third Test matches will be hosted by Abu Dhabi and Sharjah from January 8 and January 16.

Pakistan will also play a T20 match against Afghanistan before the start of the Sri Lanka series at till yet unannounced venue.

The first Test has been scheduled for December 31 in Dubai, while Abu Dhabi and Sharjah will host the second and third Tests, from January 8 and January 16.

Match Fixtures in UAE:

1st Twenty20 match: Date: December 11, Venue: Dubai

2nd T20 match: Date: December 13, Venue: Dubai

1st One Day International (ODI): Date: December 18, Venue: Sharjah

2nd ODI: Date: December 20, Venue: Dubai

3rd ODI: Date: December 22, Venue: Sharjah

4th ODI: Date: December 25, Venue: Abu Dhabi

5th ODI: Date: December 27, Venue: Abu Dhabi

1st Test: Date: December 31-January 4, Venue: Dubai

2nd Test: Date: January 8-12, Venue Abu Dhabi

3rd Test: Date: January 16-20, Venue: Sharjah