ICC Champions Trophy 2013: a brief history of mega event


London: Last ever Champions Trophy of International Cricket Council (ICC) Champions Trophy is about to start from 6th of June.

Keeping in view of our readers’ interest, we have made a write up on brief history of the event.

Back in 1998, ICC had started the event known as Knock Out Tournament; later on the name of this tournament was changed in 2002 and now it is known as ICC Champions Trophy.

The first event was played in Dhaka, Bangladesh. The tournament started with a preliminary match between New Zealand and Zimbabwe to decide who would proceed to the Quarter Finals. The tournament was won by South Africa, who beat West Indies in the final. The format of this event based on Knock Out while now it has been changed to Round Robin.

This tournament was played approximately after two years while in the debut event nine teams took part. In 2006, ICC reduced the participants to top eight in One Day International (ODI).

Since the beginning, ICC have conduct this event  for six times and 2013’s event will be  the last event.

Australia holds the record of winning the trophy two times while South Africa had won the first event. In 2002 Sri Lanka and India was declared the joint winners.

As 2013’s champions trophy will be the last event, it will be worth seeing this event from time.