ECP allots electoral symbols to political parties

Print Friendly and PDF

Islamabad: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Tuesday allotted electoral symbols to several political parties except Pakistan People’s Party (PPP).

Naheed Khan, the right-hand figure of slain PPP Chairperson Benazir Bhutto, has filed a petition in the ECP to register the party after her name.

However, the ECP held the decision over the allotment of electoral symbol to the PPP and directed Jahangir Baddar to produce the record till March 25.

According to the ECP, around 118 political parties would participate in the forthcoming election.

The ECP has allotted ‘tiger’ symbol the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and ‘cricket bat’ to the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI).

The Muttahida Quami Movement has been allotted the symbol of the kite, PML-Q has been allotted cycle and the lantern has been allotted to the Awami National Party.

The EC has allotted Jamaat-e-Islami (JI) the scale and the Tehreek-e-Tahaffuz-e-Pakistan the missile.

Sheikh Rasheed’s Awami Muslim League has got the ink pot symbol with a pen while the JUI-F’s electoral symbol is the book.

“Delimitation has no link with census”, SC discards ECP’s review petition
Nation to celebrate independence on May 11: Imran Khan
To vote is religious obligation, says joint fatwa of Pakistan Ulema
Shahid Afridi joining of PTI might get delay
ECP calls special meeting for by-election arrangements
PML-N Sumaira Malik 'officially' losses her NA membership
ECP asks government to hold fresh consensus before next election
Sindh govt takes final decision for LB polls; rejects arguing ECP

Leave a comment