1st Test: South Africa win toss, elect bat vs Pakistan

Print Friendly and PDF

Johannesburg: South African skipper Graeme Smith won the toss and elected to bat against Pakistan in first Test at Johannesburg on Friday.

After winning the toss in his 100th Test as skipper, Smith said that it might be a bit tough in the morning the cracks in the pitch will start playing a big role as the match will progress.

Pakistan’s skipper Misbah said that he would have liked to bat first as well though the morning session should pose plenty of questions for the batsmen.

“Really, really looking forward to seeing Junaid Khan in these conditions,” he said.


South Africa squad: GC Smith (c), HM Amla, AB de Villiers (wc), F du Plessis, D Elgar, Imran Tahir, JH Kallis, RK Kleinveldt, M Morkel, AN Petersen, RJ Peterson, VD Philander, JA Rudolph, DW Steyn

Pakistan squad: Misbah-ul-Haq (c), Abdur Rehman, Asad Shafiq, Azhar Ali, Ehsan Adil, Faisal Iqbal, Haris Sohail, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Irfan, Nasir Jamshed, Rahat Ali, Saeed Ajmal, Sarfraz Ahmed (wc), Tanvir Ahmed, Taufeeq Umar, Umar Gul, Younis Khan

Pakistan vs South Africa: Junaid Khan eyes top five
Pakistan cricket team leave for South Africa
South Africa dismiss Pakistan for 338 runs in first inning
Pakistan vs South Africa: Kyle Abbott shines as visitors follow on
‘I will play and quit on my own terms,’ says Shahid Afridi
Abu Dhabi named best airport in the Middle East
Pakistan vs South Africa 3rd ODI: Visitors win toss, elect to bowl
South Africa set 235 runs target against Pakistan

Leave a comment