Zimbabwe win toss, elect to bat first

Print Friendly and PDF

Zimbabwe won the toss and elected to bowl against hosts Sri Lanka in the inaugural match encounter of the World Twenty20 at the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium on Tuesday.Mahela Jayawardene’s men took the field in Hambantota with hopes high they can end a 16-year wait for their second global title in front of their cricket-obsessed fans.

Sri Lanka started the tournament as one of the favourites, although predictions are notoriously difficult in cricket’s shortest format, which has revolutionised the sport and divided opinion since its introduction in 2003.

Sri Lanka: Dilshan Munaweera, Tilakaratne Dilshan, Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara, Angelo Mathews, Lahiru Thirimanne, Thisara Perera, Jeevan Mendis, Nuwan Kulasekara, Aajantha Mendis, Lasith Malinga

Zimbabwe: Hamilton Masakadza, V Sibanda, Brendon Taylor, CR Ervine, MN Waller, E Chigumbura, AG Cremer, P Utseya, KM Jarvis, BV Vitori, CB Mpofu

UK defence secretary under fire over aide
Pakistan strongly come back against SL
Galle test: Sri Lanka win toss, elect to bat first against Pakistan
T20 World Cup 2012: West Indies knock out New Zealand
Counting underway in knife-edge Zimbabwe election
Afghan bowling really grabbed Pakistan batsmen: Misbah ul Haq
Pakistan vs Bangladesh 8th ODI: Venue, Time and Live streaming information
Umar Akmal becomes second batsman to play long innings in T20

Leave a comment