London 2012 hurdles: Women’s 100m semifinals’ schedule and time

Print Friendly and PDF

London: As women’s 100m Hurdles semifinals will be played at London Olympics stadium today in which 27 athletes will run to qualify for the final race.

The women’s 100m Hurdles race is one of four Hurdles events in the Athletics programme.

History:

The 100 m hurdles are an Olympic track and field athletics discipline run by women (the male counterpart is the 110 metres hurdles). For the race ten hurdles of a height of 83.8 cm (2 feet 9 inches) are placed evenly spaced along a straight course of 100 metres.

The hurdles sprint race has been run by women since the beginning of women’s athletics, just after the end of World War I. The distances and hurdle heights varied widely in the beginning. While the men had zeroed in on the 110 m hurdles, the International Women’s Sport Federation had registered records for eight different disciplines by 1926 (60 yards/75 cm height, 60 yards/61 cm, 65 yards/75 cm, 83 yards/75 cm, 100 yards/75 cm, 100 yards/61 cm, 120 yards/75 cm, 110 metres/75 cm). At the first Women’s World Games in 1922 a 100 m hurdles race was run.

Records:

Bulgaria’s Yordanka Donkova own the world record, who ran 100m in 12.21 seconds in 1988 while Joanna Hayes of United States own the Olympics record of 12.37 seconds which she set in 2004’s Athens Olympics.

Today’s Semifinals time and schedule:

Heat 1: Women’s 100m Hurdles Semifinals at 11:15 PM PST (6:15 GMT)

Heat 2: Women’s 100m Hurdles Semifinals at 11:23 PM PST (6:23 GMT)

Heat 3: Women’s 100m Hurdles Semifinals at 11:31 PM PST (6:31 GMT)

London Olympics: G4S CEO Buckles appears before MPs
Guo Wenjun wins gold for China in women's 10-meter air pistol
Badminton scandal: Disqualified Chinese player Yu Yang quits sport
UK man buys spikes worn by Usain Bolt during 100m heat
London 2012 closing ceremony: USA dominates medals race
Pistorius returns to defend Paralympics 100m gold
Black September: Germany marks 40 years since Munich Olympics killings
Google Doodle represents Olympic Charter as the Sochi Olympics officially begins today







Leave a comment